Klutzing Around With: Avocado Toast (Part 1)

Fun fact: I have never in my life purchased an avocado before this post. Which is strange because I actually really like avocado. On a taco? Great. On a burger? Even better. But for some reason, using an actual avocado never came up with any of my past food experiments (which have largely been baking, so that might have something to do with it). But while on the hunt for recipes to try for my first post, I ran across a chickpea buddha bowl that I wanted to take a stab at. I then bought an entire bag of avocados from ACME because a) I couldn’t remember how many avocados I actually needed and b) I had no idea what a reasonable price was for an avocado and $4.99 for a bag of four seemed like a good deal (pro tip: it’s not that great a deal).

It turned out I only need one avocado for the bowl (whoops), so in my frantic search for a way to use up the rest of them, I ran across several recipes for avocado toast. They seemed easy and healthy to boot, so thus began my experiment with avocado toast.

The Recipe

Being a newbie with both avocados and avocado toast, I tried to find as basic of a recipe as possible. This quest was fulfilled by The Food Network and their recipe for Mashed Avocado Toast. It even came with a tutorial video! THANKS, FOOD NETWORK.

Making the Toast

 

Processed with MaxCurve
The Ingredients

As I mentioned above, the recipe seemed fairly straightforward and required few ingredients. To create one serving of mashed avocado toast, I used:

  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 1 slice of Arnold’s 15 Grain Bread
  • A splash of ReaLemon Juice (the recipe called for the juice of half a lemon, but this is what I had and it worked fine)
  • Sea salt
  • Red pepper
  • Extra virgin olive oil

Food Network tells me it should only take 8 minutes total for this recipe, so I set my timer and get ready to cook. First, I pop my toast in the toaster, then begin to cut the avocado in half. As I mentioned, I’ve never worked with an avocado before, but thanks to the helpful video provided by the Food Network I am not terribly concerned. And I don’t need to be-fortunately the avocado was very ripe, so it slices through fairly easily.

The next step is to scoop the flesh of the avocado into a bowl. I struggle with this for a minute because I was trying to use minimal utensils, thus attempting to scoop the flesh out with a fork. This was not working, so I gave up and used a spoon, which worked much better. I went back to the fork to mash the avocado, sea salt (to taste), and lemon juice (also to taste) together, keeping the texture “slightly chunky” as instructed.

Just as I finished mashing everything together, the toast pops and it’s time to spread the avocado. I then lightly drizzled some olive oil and shake a generous sprinkle of red pepper flakes onto the toast to complete the meal.

The Final Product

Processed with MaxCurve
Processed with MaxCurve

Well it looks beautiful at any rate. I can see why people are making such a fuss, at least from a visual standpoint. And as for timing…

IMG_2801

It actually took LESS TIME than the recipe said it would! That’s probably the first (and last) time that has ever happened. Very exciting! So how does it stack up tastewise?

The final verdict…

So guys, this is actually pretty good! I added a bit too much lemon juice and not enough red pepper flakes, but it has the potential to be a pretty solid addition to my breakfast routine. I had the opportunity to make it again for my dad and got the proportioning a bit better the second time around-and it took even less time! All in all, I am on my way to understanding this avocado toast craze and will be experimenting with more variations as I get more confident with my avocado-expertise (hence, Part 1).

So thanks for sticking with me through this first food experiment! Let me know what you think in the comments and please let me know if there are any recipes you’d like me to get klutzy in the kitchen with!

Official Ingredients/Directions:

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • Sea salt
  • 2 slices whole-grain bread, toasted
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling

Cut the avocado in half, remove pit, and scoop the flesh into a bowl. Add the lemon juice and sea salt, to taste. Mash the ingredients together with a fork, keeping the texture slightly chunky. Spread half the mash onto each piece of toast and garnish with some red pepper flakes and a drizzle of olive oil. Serve immediately.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow does that ever look fantastic!

    Like

    1. klutzyinthekitchen says:

      Thank you so much! It was very tasty, I hope you have the opportunity to test for yourself!

      Like

Leave a Reply

