Klutzing Around With: Blueberry Banana Pancakes

If you asked anyone who knows me what my favorite meal of the day is, they would without hesitation say: breakfast. My love of breakfast food is boundless and inclusive to all types of morning meals, from omelettes to waffles to bacon.But one of my all time favorites? Pancakes.Light, fluffy, delicious pancakes. The only problem? Pancakes are not always so light on the stomach. As much as I love them, they often leave me feeling groggy and slow from a serious carb-overload.

But what’s a pancake lover to do? No way am I sacrificing one of my favorite breakfast foods for my suddenly sensitive stomach (the woes of post-grad life). Instead, I’m going to klutz around with this nifty pancake alternative—three ingredient Blueberry Banana Pancakes from blogger Simply Taralynn.

The Recipe

This recipe caught my eye when I was browsing through Pinterest. My two favorite types of pancakes are blueberry and banana, so combining them can only be a win. Also, three ingredients=cost effective=happy wallet.

Making the Pancakes

Processed with MaxCurve
Processed with MaxCurve

I don’t think it can get much simpler than this. To create one serving of blueberry banana pancakes, I used:

  • One medium banana (ripe)
  • One large egg
  • 1/3 cup of blueberries

For equipment, I used:

  • A medium bowl
  • One spatula
  • One square skillet
  • A canister of cooking spray
  • One ladle

There’s no time approximation on this one, so we’ll just see where this goes. To kick things off, I peel the banana and begin slicing it, putting the cut pieces into the bowl. I quickly discover ripe bananas work better for this recipe; you need to mash it as much as possible, trying to get to a liquid-like state, which is more easily achieved with an already softened fruit.

After mashing the banana, I crack the egg and mix till fully combined. Next, I take the skillet and THOROUGHLY coat it in cooking spray. Taralynn warns that the pancakes have a tendency to stick and the last thing I want is to have my pancakes in pieces.

After this, I put the skillet on the stove top and heat it to medium. I then ladle the banana-egg mixture into four small pancakes and evenly distribute the blueberries throughout.

Processed with MaxCurve
Processed with MaxCurve

They look pretty good so far! Now the part I’m most afraid of—the pancake flipping. After letting one side cook for a few minutes, it’s time to turn them over.

pancakereplace

…it did not go well.

Wow, Taralynn was not exaggerating. Despite DOUSING the skillet in spray, these suckers are just not flipping in one piece. Fortunately, after cooking both sides a bit, they do turn over a bit more easily and my blueberry banana pancakes are complete.

The Final Product

Processed with MaxCurve
Processed with MaxCurve

Not going to lie, these are not the prettiest pancakes that ever existed. Despite the thorough pan spraying, the pancakes were extremely difficult to flip and fell apart a bit during the cooking process. And as for timing?

pancake5

Less than 15 minutes! Not too shabby, but not something I’d try to do when pressed for time.

The Verdict….

So I was a bit worried I’d be getting a weird, fruity omelette, but these are actually pretty good! Do they taste exactly like a pancake? No. But the bananas and blueberries give the dish a tangy sweetness, while the egg adds a more pancake-like texture, successfully bringing everything together. And best of all, no post-breakfast sluggishness! I give this one my seal of approval and look forward to making it again—next time armed with twice the amount of cooking spray.

Official Ingredients/Directions

  • Blueberries
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1 Large Banana

-Peel and slice banana

-Mash banana and add egg.

-Mix until fully combined.

-Heat a skillet on medium.

-Spray with cooking spray.

-Fill a ¼ sized measuring cup with the pancake batter.

-Pour measuring cup onto heated skillet. Add blueberries (5-7)

-Cook each side until lightly brown.

Leave a Reply

