Klutzing Around With: Avocado Toast (Part 2)

As I mentioned in my first post, I never had avocado toast before starting this site and was a little hesitant to try it. After my first success, however, I have become…slightly obsessed. I think I had the exact same toast for almost a week straight!

All good things do come to an end, however, and there’s only so many times in a row you can eat avocado toast…at least the same exact way. Enter: Avocado Toast, Part 2!

The Recipe

Now that I’m an avocado toast aficionado (haaaaaaaa), I decided to look for a slightly more difficult recipe. After searching for awhile, I stumbled upon this article from California Avocados titled California Avocado Toast Three Ways. One of the featured recipes was California Avocado Toast with Fried Egg and I love eggs, so let’s klutz around!

Making the Toast

Processed with MaxCurve
The Ingredients

When I said this recipe was ‘more difficult,’ I meant more because of the multitasking required. To create one serving of avocado toast with fried egg, I used:

  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 1 slice of Arnold’s 15 Grain Bread
  • 1 egg
  • McCormick Peppercorn Medley Grinder, to taste
  • Red pepper flakes, to taste (I decided to add that later, so the container is not pictured above)

For the equipment, I used:

  • 1 small bowl
  • 1 toaster
  • 1 paring knife
  • 1 fork
  • 1 small frying pan
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 spatula

To start, I thoroughly spray the small frying pan with cooking spray, put it over medium heat, and crack the egg into the pan to fry. I then take a slice of bread and pop it into the toaster at medium toastiness.

While the egg and toast are cooking, I cut the avocado in half, remove the pit, and scrape the insides into the small bowl. I then take the fork and thoroughly mash it.

At around this time, I notice the egg is cooking faster then the toast. So not to overcook, I turn the stove’s heat down to low until the toast pops. After quickly spreading the mashed avocado on the toast, I remove the fried egg from the pan with the spatula and carefully place on top of the avocado. I then season to taste with the peppercorn, and the avocado toast in complete.

The Final Product

Processed with MaxCurve
Avocado Toast with Fried Egg

So that was pretty easy! I was a little nervous when the egg got done before the toast, but it doesn’t look overcooked. And as for timing…

toast2

Only seven minutes! You can’t beat that.

The Verdict

Processed with MaxCurve
Omnomnom

After tasting the toast, I realized it was a bit…plain, so I went outside the original recipe and added some red pepper flakes. And wow, did that make a difference! It gave the toast the kick it needed to bring it up to a breakfast I’d want to have again and again. That might just be my personal preference of liking things a little spicy, but I would definitely recommend anyone trying this to add that extra ingredient.

So another successful adventure in avocado toast! Does this mean a part 3 is on the horizon? Hmmmm…..

Official Ingredients/Directions

  • 1 slice bread (try thick, crusty artisan breads, sourdough, rye, wheat, multigrain or whatever bread you prefer)
  • 1/2 ripe, Fresh California Avocado, peeled, seeded and mashed
  • 1 egg
  • Fresh cracked pepper-Optional
  • Sea salt to taste-Optional
  1. Toast 1 slice bread and spread with 1/2 ripe, Fresh California Avocado (mashed or sliced). Spray a small nonstick skillet with cooking spray and fry one egg as desired.
  2. Place cooked egg onto avocado toast, sprinkle with salt and pepper if desired.

Have a food you’d like to see me klutz around with? Let me know in the comments or reach out through my contact page!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SFizzle says:

    …I think I may be falling into the same avocado trap. I’ve been using it in everything… I’m trying this next😁

    Like

    1. klutzyinthekitchen says:

      Right?! Avocado is amazing in everything! Let me know if you’d recommend any recipes with avocado, I’d love to get some more ideas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

