Klutzing Around With: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Guys, guess what?

IT’S OFFICIALLY FALL! Finally, the most wonderful time of the year is here and with it comes all the best flavors—apple and pumpkin being my personal favorite. I warned you in my last post that I’d be experimenting with some pumpkin recipes and that time has come in the form of breakfast.

Since I work over an hour away from my house, I usually make overnight oats so I can have a quick meal before heading out in the morning. I’ve been wanting to mix it up, however, and last weekend seemed the perfect opportunity when I spotted this stove top Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal recipe on Pinterest.

The Recipe

This recipe was inspired by the blogger The Glowing Fridge. I say ‘inspired’ because I made some modifications to the original recipe, tailoring it more to my taste preference, aka not quite as sweet. While I love chocolate chips, maple syrup, and cinnamon, putting all of them in this recipe seemed a bit excessive for me. With that in mind, it’s time to klutz around with my take on this festive oatmeal!

Making the Oatmeal

Processed with MaxCurve
The ingredients

This recipe is fairly simple, ingredient-wise. To make the oatmeal, I used:

  • 1/2 cup Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup Silk Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/2 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1 teaspoon McClure’s of New England Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • A dash of sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds

For equipment, I used:

  • A small pot
  • A small bowl
  • Measuring cups and spoons
  • A wooden spoon
  • Stove top

To get the oatmeal started, I take the small pot and stir in the oats, water, and almond milk. After bringing the mixture to a boil, I reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.

While the mixture heats on the stove top, I mash the banana in the small bowl and mix in the pumpkin purée, maple syrup, pumpkin pie spice, sea salt, and cinnamon.

“This is easy!” I say to myself, foolishly overconfident as the timer goes off and I take the pot off the stove. I go to scoop the now creamy oatmeal out of the pot and into the bowl with the pumpkin mixture…where disaster strikes.

pumpoat.JPG

….so the oatmeal is stuck to the pot. Well, not all the oatmeal, but enough that I’ve lost a decent amount of food. Should I have been stirring this while it was heating? The blogger didn’t say in the instructions, but maybe I missed it in the actual article?

Ugh. Well, too late now. I scrape the remaining oats into the bowl, add in the chia seeds and stir everything in with the pumpkin mixture until they are well combined. And with that, we’re done!

The Final Product

pumpoat1.JPG

Okay, this is not the prettiest bowl of oatmeal I have ever produced, but I’m still learning how to plate properly, so cut me some slack. Even if it’s not as aesthetically pleasing as it could be, it smells quite nice and that’s good enough for me. And as for time…

pumpoat5.PNG

Not too bad! The original recipe said 15 minutes, so I’m not terribly far off the mark. If I make this again, I think I could definitely get the time down without an issue.

The Verdict

I’m a bit nervous to eat this, what with the oats sticking to the pot, messing around with some of the ingredients and making oatmeal on the stove for the first time. It also looks a bit messy, but never judge a book by its cover, right?

Right.

I take the first bite and it’s like autumn in a spoon. I have sudden flashes of leaf piles, bonfires, the breeze of a perfect fall day. If this golden season could be condensed into one perfect food, it would be this Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal—but you’ll have to see for yourself.

Ingredients/Directions

  1. 1/2 cup rolled oats
  2. 1/2 cup water
  3. 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  4. 1/2 banana, mashed
  5. 1/4 cup pumpkin purée
  6. 1 teaspoon maple syrup (or coconut sugar/agave)
  7. 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  8. 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  9. pinch of sea salt
  10. 1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)
  11. additional 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (optional)
  12. chocolate chips (optional)
  13. pumpkin seeds (optional)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. In a small pot, stir the oats, water and almond milk together and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes until creamy.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mash the banana and stir in the pumpkin purée and maple syrup along with the pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon and sea salt.
  3. Turn off heat and stir the pumpkin mixture into the oats with the optional chia seeds. Mix until well combined.
  4. Add extra almond milk at the end if dry.
  5. Top with chocolate chips and pumpkin seeds if desired.
  6. Enjoy!!

Have a food you’d like to see me klutz around with? Let me know in the comments or reach out through my contact page!

Leave a Reply

