Klutzing Around With: Holiday Corn Pudding

It’s officially the holiday season! While the reign of pumpkin spice has come to an end, it’s only just the beginning of family, friends, and loved ones coming together to celebrate their own unique traditions, many centered around—you guessed it—food.

Today, we’re going to klutzy around with my favorite holiday recipe of all. Corn pudding. Yes, you heard me. Buckle up, friends. You’re about to experience a hidden holiday treasure.

The Recipe

Ever since I was little, my mom has made a holiday corn pudding that is everyone’s FAVORITE Thanksgiving and Christmas side dish. That’s why last year, I decided to recreate it for my first ever Friendsgiving (like Thanksgiving, but with friends).

My food decision was met with…skepticism by my friends, who had tragically never heard of the dish. After the meal, however, they were believers and actually requested it again for this year’s feast, so I decided to share what has been dubbed ‘Reen’s Holiday Corn’ (Reen being my mother—HI, MOM!) with the world.

Making the Corn

Processed with MaxCurve

Since this recipe has been in our family for so long, none of us have any idea where it came from. If anyone does recognize this recipe and knows its origin, please let me know in the comments!

This recipe is actually pretty easy to make. To make the pudding, I used:

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 2 1/2 cups nonfat milk
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 cans (33 oz.) Green Giant Steam Crisp Nibblets, drained
  • 1/2 cup Rienzi Bread Crumbs, Italian Style

For equipment, I used:

  • An oven
  • A stove top
  • A 13×19 pan
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • Medium saucepan
  • Wire whisk
  • Wooden spoon
  • Large bowl
  • Butter knife
  • Measuring cups and spoons
  • Tinfoil

Since this dish is going to Friendsgiving, I opted to make the dish the night before, then transport it to the hostess’ house for final preparation. Hence, no preheating the oven yet, but if you’re making this at home, I would recommend preheating your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit to start.

Since I am cooking the dish later, however, I started by lightly greasing the 13×19 baking dish with the nonstick cooking spray. Then, in the medium saucepan, I melted 4 tablespoons of the butter over medium heat. With the wire whisk, I stirred in the flour and cooked for two minutes. This is the part where I need to be extremely careful—the mixture must cook for precisely two minutes or it burns, completely destroying the food right off the bat.

After carefully cooking the flour and butter, I gradually added the milk, whisking until smooth. I then added in the sugar, salt, and pepper, cooking between 3-4 minutes and stirring occasionally until the moisture thickens. Once that is finished, I take the pan off the stove and allow it to cool for 5 minutes.

While I wait for the sauce to cool, I drain the nibblets and place them in the large bowl. Once the sauce has cooled, I pour it over the corn and mix well using the wooden spoon. Then, I stir in the beaten eggs until everything is thoroughly combined.

Next, I transfer the corn mixture into the baking dish, spreading evenly. I place some tinfoil over the dish and let it sit in the refrigerator until I go to Friendsgiving. Once at the hostess’ home, I remove the tinfoil and evenly sprinkle the breadcrumbs over the top of the dish. I use the butter knife to cut the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter in small pieces and use it to dot the top of the casserole.

Now that everything is assembled, I place the dish into the oven (that the hostess has kindly enough preheated for me) and allow it to cook for 35 minutes. I insert the butter knife into the center and it comes out clean, so we’re done!

The Final Product

Processed with MaxCurve

This corn pudding smells like my childhood. I am so excited. And as for timing…img_3629

Around an hour, so that’s not terrible for a holiday side dish! At this point, though, we’re all ready for food, so let’s eat!

The Verdict

corn4.JPG

Happy Friendsgiving, everyone! Once again, the corn pudding is a success. Smooth, creamy, with a bit of crunch that brings everything together. No matter what holiday you’re celebrating this December, my friends and I give my mom’s holiday corn pudding a 10/10 and hope you have the opportunity to try it yourself. Bon appétit!

Ingredients/Directions

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 cans (33 oz.) nibblets corn, drained
  • 1/2 cup fresh breadcrumbs

DIRECTIONS

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly grease a 13×19 baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

In medium saucepan, melt 4 tablespoons butter over medium heat. With wire whisk, stir in flour and cook 2 minutes.

Gradually add milk, whisking until smooth, add sugar, salt, pepper. Cook 3-4 minutes, stirring occasionally until mixture thickens. Cook 5 minutes.

Place corn in large bowl. Pour white sauce over corn and mix well. Stir in eggs until thoroughly combined.

Transfer corn mixture to baking dish. Sprinkle bread crumbs evenly over the top.

Cut remaining 2 tablespoons butter into small pieces; use it to dot the top of the casserole.

Bake 30-35 minutes until top is golden and knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Have a food you’d like to see me klutz around with? Let me know in the comments or reach out through my contact page!

Leave a Reply

